I am now accessing as a :

Government Of Assam Home & Political Assam Police



All District

Assam Police Border personnel are posted in all the districts of Assam for detection and deportation of illegal foreigners and to prevent them from entering into the state from across the Indo-Bangla International Border.

Second Line of Defence

In the Tripartite meeting held at New Delhi between the Union Govt, Govt. of Assam and the All Assam Students Union (AASU) on 18-03-1999, it was decided to establish a 2nd Line of Defence BOPs (Back-up-Force) behind the Border Security Force (BSF) BOPs to keep vigil and to trace infiltrators who might sneak past the BSF BOPs. Accordingly, it was proposed to establish 28 nos. of BOPs and 03 Tactical Hqrs. in the bordering districts of Assam namely Dhubri, Cachar and Karimganj. At present, 12 nos. of BOP and 02 nos. of Tactical Hqrs. are functioning with meagre available resources of Assam Police Border Organisation. The remaining BOPs and Tac. Hqrs. will be made functional as soon as necessary infrastructure, including accommodation and other logistic support, are made available. In this regard, a proposal has been submitted to the Govt. of Assam for construction of BOPs, and Tac. Hqrs. vide Memo No. ADGP(B)/III(A)construction/225/2006/5812 dtd. 05.10.2006.

  • 28 BOPs and 3 Tactical Hqrs. were proposed. (Dhubri -14, Cachar -3 and Karimganj-11)
  • Fund sanctioned for 11 BOPs.
  • Construction completed for 11 BOPs.
  • Persons deployed (Dhubri - 42, Karimganj - 29 and Cachar - 00 = 71).
  • BOPs are functional in Dhubri - 6, Cachar - 2 and Karimganj - 6 (including 2 Tac. Hqrs).

PP (Patrol Post)

Apart from the 2nd line of Defence BOPs, there are also 15 nos. of Patrol Posts (PPs) which are located in two bordering districts of Assam namely, Dhubri and Karimganj to prevent the entry of fresh / re-infiltrators into the State.

ICP (Immigration Check Post)

There are 06 nos. of ICPs (Immigration Check Post) in two bordering districts of Assam namely, Dhubri and Karimganj to check passenger traffic into the State withvalid documents. A proposal for strengthening and upgradation of PPCPs have been submitted to the Govt. vide Memo No. ADGP(B)/III(A)/65/2006/5713 dtd. 25.09.2006.

Joint Patrolling

Joint patrolling between the Assam Police Border Organisation personnel and the BSF has been continuing along the International Border with Bangladesh.

Watch Post

The Assam Police Border Organisation personnel are also posted to 159 nos. of Watch Posts (WPs) located in infiltration prone areas of 20 districts of Assam to conduct survey in these areas, detect the illegal infiltrators and initiate legal action against them.

District-Wise Number of Watch Posts

S. N.DistrictExistingFunctionalNon-functional
2South Salmara130409
12North Lakhimpur0606 
17City Guwahati03 03
22Chirang01 01

Inter-State Border

To monitor the development along the Inter-State Border and keep the Govt. informed. To protect the Inter-State Border of Assam from being encroached by the neighbouring States and also to protect the life and property of the people of Assam who are living along the Inter-State Border. Total 81 nos. of BOPs are functional along the Inter-State Border of Assam. Neutral Force and Assam Police are manning those BOPs and keeping strict vigil on these areas. Establishment of New BOPs along the Inter-State Border in the various districts of Assam has been taken up and will be implemented shortly.

Length of the Inter-State border of Assam with seven states

S. N.Neighbouring StateLength of Border
1Meghalaya884.90 KM
2Arunachal Pradesh804.10 KM
3Nagaland512.10 KM
4Mizoram164.60 KM
5Manipur204.10 KM
6West Bengal127.00 KM
7Tripura46.30 KM

2743.10 Kms

District-wise length of Inter-State Border

S. N.Name of DistrictNagalandArunachalMeghalayaMizoramManipurTripuraWest BengalTotal
1Dibrugarh-52 KM -- - - -52 KM
2Lakhimpur-67.2 KM - - - - -67.2 KM
 Dhemaji-178.1 KM - - -- -178.1 KM
 Tinsukia -227 KM - - - - -227 KM
 Jorhat101 KM - - - - - -101 KM
 Golaghat160 KM - - - - - -160 KM
 Sivsagar97 KM29 KM - - - - -126 KM
 Karbi Anglong80 KM -- - - - -80 KM
 Sonitpur -210 KM - - - - -210 KM
 Dima Hasao20 KM -30 KM -10 KM - -60 KM
 Udalguri -24.90 KM- - - - -24.90 KM
 Cachar - -16 KM30 KM48.5 KM - -94.5 KM
 Karimganj - - -16 KM -36 KM -52 KM
 Hailakandi - - -76 KM - - -76 KM
 Goalpara - -150 KM- - - -150 KM
 Kokrajhar - - - - - -33.6 KM33.6 KM
 Dhubri - -108 KM - - -18 KM126 KM
 Kamrup - -128.1 KM - - - -128.1 KM
 Kamrup (Metro) - -35 KM - -- -35 KM
 Morigaon - -9 KM - - - -9 KM
 Hamren - -88.2 KM - - - -88.2 KM
 Total458 KM788.20 KM564.3 KM122 KM58.5 KM36 KM51.6 KM2743.10 KM

River Police

The infiltrators into the State through riverine routes are also checked by the River Police Organisation. At present there are 04 (four) River Police Stations and 07 River Police Out Posts. A proposal for raising a new India Reserve (IR) Battalion for River Police has been submitted vide Memo No. DGP(B)/III(A)/IRBn/238/930 dated 03/04/2009.