I am now accessing as a :

Government Of Assam Home & Political Assam Police



Shri Sarbananda Sonowal
Chief Minister, Assam
CM block, Assam Secretariat 
Dispur, Assam
Ph: 0361-2262222, 0361-2237043
Email: cm@assam.gov.in


Sri Sarbananda Sonowal is the Hon'ble Chief Minister of Assam.

Sri Sonowal graduated from Dibrugarh University and then completed LLB from Gauhati University. He started his political career as the President of the All Assam Students Union (AASU) from 1992 to 1999. He then joined the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) party and was elected MLA from Moran constituency in 2001. Sri Sonowal became a Lok Sabha member in 2004, representing Dibrugarh constituency. This he continued to be till 2009. In 2011, Sri Sonowal joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

In 2014 general elections, Sri Sarbananda Sonowal won from Lakhimpur constituency and joined the  16th Lok Sabhawas as MP. He was given the portfolio of Union Minister of State-Independent Charge and Union Minister for Sports & Youth Affairs under the BJP Government at the centre. On 19 May 2016, Sri Sonowal won the Assam Assembly Elections from Majuli constituency and became the 14th Chief Minister of Assam.